Pregnancy Superfood: Protein-Enriched Tuna Salad

While I was in the last trimester of my pregnancy, I was hungry ALL THE TIME. Couldn’t help it. So we had to come up with healthy snacking options to keep the baby happy, and since I had fluctuating sugar levels, I had to be careful about what I was snacking on.

Pregnancy also means getting on a high-protein diet, so pulses, beans, eggs, fish, lean chicken meat- all good! I love tuna, so my Dad and I came up with a tuna salad pumped up with extra proteins. I used canned tuna, boiled eggs, steamed beans, onions, tomatoes and some old bread that I toasted into croutons.

Up Close

INGREDIENTS

Tuna- half a can

1 boiled egg, chopped (you can avoid this if you don’t like boiled eggs)

Croutons, ½ cup

Steamed green beans, ½ cup

1 medium-sized tomato – chopped (I de-seeded the tomato and removed the pith because I didn’t want the croutons to get too soggy.)

1 medium-sized onion, sliced

DRESSING

For the dressing, I made a quick honey-mustard, and added some dried oregano and cracked pepper. I made this the easy way; putting Dijon mustard, lime juice, honey, oregano and cracked pepper into a jar and giving it a vigorous shake. If you have any leftover mustard, then it’s a good idea to make some in the jar and save it for later, like the Amateur Gourmet.

Toss everything together with the dressing. And you’re done.

Lotsa Protein

Comments are yummy :)

