Chocolate Almond Pound Cake: I Found My Favourite Chocolate Cake Recipe!

There are certain things every woman needs.

The perfect LBD.

image courtesy | harpersbzaar.com

The absolute hold-all that is both classy and  convenient.

image courtesy | purseblog.com

Your 2 am best friend who will pick up the phone no matter what. (Ok I used to read Cosmo and feel all wonderful about being a 2am philosopher and guide to my girlfriends, but once I got married and had a child, this ‘need’ just tumbled off my list. I need my sleep. My friends need theirs. Unless you are seriously in a scrape, you should not be calling anyone at 2am, no matter what time zone they are in.)

image courtesy | shutterstock.com

More importantly, you also need a perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe, and a fail-safe/go-to chocolate cake recipe.

I know I need these almost as much as I need water.

And after my last bad attempt at chocolate cake, I searched and sifted; tried and tested; and I found my fail-safe/go-to/favourite chocolate cake recipe.

Surprise surprise, it’s from Thanh again!

How can anyone not want to try something that’s called a chocolate pound cake? I know I did.

I made a few tweaks, slipping in a bar of chocolate to make the batter more decadent.

And some almonds, because almonds are another way to add decadence.

And it’s altogether overall oh-so-darn good. Moist and crumbly; smooth and velvety once it’s in your mouth.

CHOCOLATE ALMOND POUND CAKE (Adapted with minimal changes from Eat, Little Bird.)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup plain flour
  • 2/3 cup cocoa powder, sifted
  • 100 grams almonds, coarsely pounded (according to some conversion calculators, this works out to about 7/8 cup…I guess you could use anywhere between 1/2 cup to 1 cup, depending on how crunchy you want the cake to be and how much you like almonds!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 cup + 1/3 cup castor sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon instant coffee powder
  • 2 1/2 eggs
  • 2/3 cup vanilla yogurt (I used Danone vanilla yogurt…the small pack is 100 grams, I used about 3/4 of that pack.)
  • 1/4 cup milk chocolate pieces (I used good old Cadbury’s Dairy Milk)

METHOD

  • Pre-heat the oven to 165 C
  • Sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, salt and crushed almonds and keep aside.
  • In a small bowl, dissolve the coffee powder in  10 ml of hot water, and add in the chocolate pieces to make a thick chocolatey sauce.
  • In a large bowl, beat the sugar and butter together until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla extract + the chocolate coffee sauce and beat some more.
  • Add a third of the egg mixture at a time, along with a tablespoon each of the dry ingredients, and incorporate well.
  • Next, add what’s left of the dry ingredients and the yogurt. Make sure everything is well combined.
  • Pour into a greased and floured baking dish and bake at 165C for about an hour. These ingredients yield ample batter- I poured mine into a 1.5 litre capacity fluted baking dish, and had a little leftover, which I poured  into 2 babycake tins!

I added some slivered almonds atop the babycakes and they were so pretty. The cake is glossy on top and rich and velvety inside; the almonds just add a lovely little textural disruption.

(That line sounded quite prissy, almost Nigella-like. Sorry folks. But this cake is fiiiine.)

13 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Pound Cake: I Found My Favourite Chocolate Cake Recipe!

  1. Pingback: Eggless Vanilla Cupcakes: I’m A Poor Froster Of Cupcakes. « Masala Art

  2. I love your tweaks to this recipe! This is definitely one fine chocolate cake. I made it again recently to take on a picnic and it was just perfect. I agree that every woman should have a go-to chocolate cake recipe. I’m so happy to hear that this is yours :-)

    • Yes, it was! It really is a great recipe…I have made it a few times since, and it has turned out so well. And I love how much everyone’s who’s eaten it has appreciated it! That’s what you really look for in home made dessert :)

  3. Love this post. It has (almost) all my favourite things in (you missed out a pair of killer heels!!) – love that dress! And the cake looks AMAZING! I swear, as soon as I get an oven I am going to leanr to bake and it will be through yours and Heather’s recipes! In the meantime I have a go-to shop to buy cake from (it so is not the same but luckily also sells wine!). I need this cake today. It’s a super hard week and it’s only Tuesday! ugh!
    P.S. on the 2 a.m. phone calls – you need a friend that you know should you ever need that again, you kow would pick up, but most of us get to a point where nothing is that urgent anymore (because instead of staying up drinking to solve it, failing and calling them to help us drink it over, we fall asleep drinking to solve it…I sound like a complete alcoholic in this comment…oops!)

    • I am laughing so hard, my husband thinks I’ve lost it! I know what you mean about the 2am thing- it’s so true! I also end up falling just asleep with issues. I’m like, heck, I can’t bother trying to figure this out now, I’ll just sleep on it. And yeah…killer heels I missed out. I guess since I’m in flip flops most of the time at home, I have forgotten my heeled existence!

    • Oh sounds great!! I like chocolate cupcakes a little sticky…makes them that much more fun to eat! I saw the basil walnut pesto…i’m telling you, we’re telepathic, because I made some last week because I didn’t have pine nuts! They work pretty ok as a substitute.

Comments are yummy :)

