Foodless Friday: Five Things

Friday…the 13th!! (Cue eerie music. Just kidding.) Here’s what I’m:

Reading: The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. I was never much of a ‘self-help’ reader, but of late, I have been trying to stop complaining and look within. I came across several positive reviews of this book, and I bought it. I like it because Rubin writes it more as a memoir than a typical, stylised, step 1-2-3-4 kind of self help book. Here one-minute rule is a real gem.

Watching: Technically, since today is Friday The 13th, I could have chosen to pop in a Jason caper…but I chose otherwise. I watched Blue Valentine. This movie will leave you blue. No pun intended. It is a beautiful and stark portrayal of the deteriorating relationship a husband and wife share, and the non-linear narrative weaves in and out of their past and present. But I’m warning you, if you are an emotional bunny like me, you will feel upset by the end of it. Apart from being critically acclaimed, the movie also has Ryan Gosling. Which is the main reason you should watch it!

Listening to: Beautiful Ones by Suede. I used to LOVE this song when I was in school…and I used to love singing along to the video. This song reminds me of a time when I was chubbier, electro beats weren’t as huge as they are today and everyone used dial-up internet connections. Gosh I feel old.

Remembering: Nora Ephron. It’s been over 2 weeks. But you can never forget the line “I’ll have what she’s having.”

Loving: This linx double gold band from Love Rocks NY. I just love how fluid this is!

photo courtesy | loverocksny.com

Have a great weekend everyone!

12 thoughts on “Foodless Friday: Five Things

  1. I’ve heard so much about Gretchen Rubin and The Happiness Project — definitely need to get my hands on that! And I’m intrigued by the one-minute rule . . .

    • Oh it’s quite an interesting book and a pretty easy read…though the typeface is small. The one minute rule is, if there is a task at hand and it takes under one minute to do (like putting away a jar of peanut butter) then just do it instead of leaving it for later.

  2. My friend read The Happiness project last year and we used to enjoy chatting about the different suggestions and themes each month, I preferred her blog to her book, but I haven’t visited recently. Let me know how you go with it. And LOVE a bit of Suede for some nostaligc listening – more of a “we’re traaaaaa-a-aaaash you an me” girl myself, but Beautiful Ones is another winner! Remember Longpigs? Sleeper? Oh god, I’m on a 90s Britpop mission now…hello YouTube…

    • Her blog is great too. I have been trying to incoporate the one minute rule, and the clutter clearing at night was always part of my routine and it helps! Yeah, last week I was also listening to Blur and Supergrass on YouTube!!

  3. This is fun!! I have read part of the Happiness Project.. and then got too happy to finish, lol! I have added her blog post updates as well, it’s a great resource to check out!! xo

Comments are yummy :)

