The Things You Can Do With Cooked Rice: Lemon Tomato Rice

I am a big fan of re-hashing day-old cooked rice and jazzing it up into a simple meal. I actually do it pretty often, this business of giving day-old rice a makeover, except that I never thought of creating a post around it. But after going through Caroline’s delicious post about the versatility of cold rice, I thought I would also post one of my favourite DIY rice-ipes. (Yeah. Once in a while, it is fun to create words that you think are cute, but deep down you know¬†it’s just sad.)

All you need is a cup (or less) of cooked white rice, some spices, a little chopped onion and tomato and you can serve up something that looks pretty without much effort. And you can even put phancy garnishes on it, and give it your own phancy name like ‘fragrant cilantro leaf rice with tomato’ or ‘spiced lemon pilaf’ or anything else you could think of. This works well if you want to host a phancy-ish dinner party for people you don’t particularly fancy. (Such situations can happen. More often than you anticipate.)

Still in the skillet

LEMON TOMATO RICE

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup cooked white rice
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1 green chilli, chopped (optional)
  • 1 small to medium-sized tomato, chopped
  • 1 small to medium-sized onion, chopped
  • Salt to taste
  • Coriander leaves for garnish
  • 1 tablespoon oil (or less if you wish)
  • Juice of 1/2 a small lemon

METHOD

  • Heat the oil in a wok. When it get hot, add the mustard seeds and allow them to pop. Then add the cumin seeds.
  • Add in the onions and let them soften and become translucent.
  • Add the tomatoes and give them a stir.
  • Next, add the turmeric and mix so that everything gets evenly coated.
  • Add in the cooked rice, and stir well so that the yellow colour from the turmeric coats the grains of rice evenly.
  • Add salt to taste.
  • Squeeze lime juice and mix well.
  • Pull off heat and garnish with coriander.

Hope you are all having a lovely week. I really need to respond to my huge queue of comments. I do not know how some of my friends do it- Anita, Ameena, Caroline, Madhu, Heather…all of you are so prompt and dedicated with your replies!

I know what the reason is though.

I am always looking at other people’s pretty blog pics.

Still not a good enough excuse.

14 thoughts on “The Things You Can Do With Cooked Rice: Lemon Tomato Rice

  1. This looks so yummy and easy! Love rice. Right now I’m full of soup and ice cream after having my tooth out. I’m not allowed to go in the kitchen (or anywhere that isn’t the sofa) which is driving me mental, but hopefully tomorrow I can convince the other half that this is a quick and soft-ish thing for me to cook as I get back to normal food!

  2. Rice in whatever form has me captured my friend – this looks ridiculously tasty :D
    Great job!
    Also thanks for subscribing to my blog I hope you enjoy it :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. I read that post that Caroline wrote; it was super! I re-purposed leftover brown rice yesterday. Shrimp fried rice. Yessssss! I love rice any way, but I have to dress it up for my family to eat it. Your recipe looks dang good, girl!!

    • Shrimp fried rice!!! It is the best form of fried rice, beats chicken and shredded beef hands down. Have you seen that episode of How I Met Your Mother where Barney gets the whole bar to chant ‘shrimp fried rice’ it as a social experiment?

  4. Rice is my most favorite thing. I eat it 2 X a day at least! Crazy but true. I love that you can morph it so easily into something new. You are talented.

    And as far as my replying to comments, I sit down once a day and do them all at once! It’s super efficient.

    Have a great weekend Meenakshi!

    • Yeah I remember your post about eating rice cakes with butter!! Lol. And I am going to follow your advice about the comment replies. As you can see, my current format of lying low and spamming my own blog with comments is not very healthy.

  5. Hahahah! Oh dang Meenakshi, you are sharp and witty, I love reading your posts and I catch myself having a good cackle. Phancy rice-ipes! Fabulous! The lemon rice, is one of my favourite things, particularly when kalonji is thrown into the mix :)

Comments are yummy :)

