An Accidental Pomegranate Upside-Down Cake

I wrote earlier this week about how I had a sudden sugar craving and just had to have some cake, stat. And I wanted something quick and something moist and buttery.

So I did something very bad, calorically. I added butter, sugar, ICING SUGAR and full-fat cream to the batter. Quite a bit of it, too. I wanted a moist pillowy sugary cake and I’d be damned if I wasn’t going to get one. I knew that icing sugar and butter combined to make something soft and rich and delightful, and I wanted to see what would happen if I added some to cake batter.

I also wanted to bake something I had not baked before, for the sake of posting.

So I thought- now is a good time to use up some of the pomegranate I have lying in my fridge! I didn’t really look for a pomegranate cake recipe; I just made things up as I went along and added the pomegranate to the batter. How difficult could it be?

I made my batter and put it to bake; and then I started worrying that the copious amounts of cream and butter I used, might make my cake fall. But I prayed that the baking powder and eggs would bring some extra ammo and let everything rise.

And rise it did.

Except- my pomegranate arils sank to the bottom. (Dear readers, do you know how to avoid this? When I baked a chocolate chip cake previously, I was met with a similar problem.)

And they bled. (Which was expected.)

But they also turned blue!

Well, a purplish blue.

Oh, who am I kidding, that’s the same colour as a bruise on an injured arm.

But I can vouch for one thing- this cake is moist and buttery and soft and delicious. Even with blue pomegranate!

BUTTERY VANILLA-POMEGRANATE CAKE

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3 tablespoons icing sugar (you can leave this out if you wish. No pressure.)
  • 1/3 cup butter at room temperature
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate arils (yes, the translucent ruby-coloured little things are called arils! I was going to call them kernels but decided to check.)

METHOD

  • Pre-heat your oven to 180 C
  • Combine the flour, white sugar, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl and keep aside.
  • Lightly whisk egg, cream and vanilla extract together in a small bowl and keep aside.
  • Beat the butter into the dry ingredients, a third at a time, until the mixture resembles fine bread crumbs.
  • Add the egg-vanilla-cream mixture and continue beating.
  • Add in the 3 tablespoons of icing sugar and beat some more, till the batter becomes light and kind of fluffy. Do not overbeat. You want slightly fluffy, not meringue fluffy.
  • Fold in your your pomegranate.
  • Pour into greased loaf pan or baking dish and bake at 180 C for 40 minutes, or until a toothpick or knife inserted comes out clean.

So this cake is really an accidental pomegranate upside-down cake, because the arils sank to the bottom when I did not intend for them too. But who cares? Not like the search engines can sue me. Or can they?

18 thoughts on “An Accidental Pomegranate Upside-Down Cake

    • Thanks Uru! Well, when the sigar cravings hit, a girl’s gotta make do with whatever she can find in her kitchen! Note to self- maybe I should keep more ingredients on hand all the time.

    • I followed your advice and dusted chocolate chips in flour for the next cake I baked, and it worked! Woohoo. I am still wondering why they turned purple. Maybe they are not meant to be baked, just added as a garnish on top of cake.

  1. If you wanted the pomegranate/chocochip all uniformly dispersed in your cake then you need to coat them separately in flour or better still add them in the dry mixture and mix well to coat with flour and other dry ingredients. Then add the wet ingredients to the dry and bake. This should work.

Comments are yummy :)

