Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cake

I seem to have lost my blogarhythm. I have just been lazy and angsty and generally sitting on my behind. And watching Alfred Hitchcock movies. And watching Downton Abbey. And watching the 2011 version of Jane Eyre and every darn movie clip with Michael Fassbender I could get my hands on. I have suddenly woken up to the amazing actor that he is. The fact that he looks like this doesn’t hurt, either.

Sometimes, I like to act like I’m still in college and sit around in my pajamas all day and watch Torrented television and cinema. Makes me feel young and sprightly!

Right. Pajamas. Something we may do while still in them: eat breakfast. Something I do not like for breakfast: oats. Not too much anyway. I used to detest oats earlier, because I used to get grossed-out by their soggy goopiness. (Somewhere, an editor of literary fiction just died reading those adjectives. But wait- an editor of literary fiction would never read a blawg, dawg. How foolish of moi.)

Like I was saying, I am not the biggest fan of oats. Which is why it was a stupid idea to pick up a large pack of quick-cooking oats from the supermarket recently. We had guests over, and they were oat-eaters, and the only pack available was a giant one. I ate oats for a few days and got sick of it and didn’t know what the hell to do with the damn sackful (almost!) that was still leftover.

And I figured, why not bake it? Fibre and sugar! What an awesome combination!! I decided to make a cake with apples and cinnamon.

Oatsy-daisy

Like orange and chocolate, apple and cinnamon work so well together. I think my love for apples and cinnamon comes from consuming healthy amounts of  Apple Jacks and Cinnamon Toast Crunch as a kid.

APPLE CINAMMON OATMEAL BREAD (Adapted From The Daily Meal.)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup quick cooking oats (I used Quaker Oats)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
  • ¼ cup white sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1 apple, peeled, cored, and chopped (any apple you like)

METHOD

  • Preheat oven to 200 C.
  • Whisk together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon powder, oats and sugar in a large bowl.
  • In a separate bowl, combine the egg and milk.
  • Pour the egg-milk mixture into the dry ingredients and whisk.
  • Next, add the softened butter, a third at a time, till evenly incorporated.
  • Add the chopped apples and whisk everything together so that the batter is evenly combined.
  • Pour batter into a greased baking dish and bake at 200 C for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick or knife inserted comes out clean.

The only thing that I could have done, was perhaps add some plump raisins to cut through the sweetness and add a little sour bite. But even without them, this is pretty darn good.

My resolution this year is to take nicer photographs for le blog. I tried to capture this differently, and sprinkled some dry oats and apples and cinnamon powder next to the piece of cake, to make it look rustic and phancy, but it looks neither phancy nor rustic like I hoped it would. Oh well. I guess we must all start somewhere. Even if it is by placing Dry Oats next to Piece Of Cake. Like a bizarre seating arrangement at a dinner party.

11 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cake

  1. lol, as far as lazing-around-all-day-in-pajama’s go, im right there in the front of the queue giving u company! classy be damned, they are darned comfortable! this is a great snack for one of those days im craving sugar (read as all the time) but could do without the extra calories (also read as all the time) :D

    • LOL! I think I have found my long-lost twin. I also love sugar to the point of it being worrying- I have to have something sweet after lunch and dinner. We must have a bloggers’ pajama party. With cake.

  2. I love your sense of humor — that is why we click, no? ;)

    And talking about oats, there’s many ways to fancy it up to your liking. Like this delicious oatmeal cake. I would slather mine with nut butters, granolas, seasonal fruits etc. YUM :D

  3. :-) I am grinning ear to ear. It happens everytime I visit your space.
    The cake seems lovely from what I can figure out. A pic is a bit hazy, to tell you honestly.
    Cookies – oats+ raisins? they are nice to. More ideas for you to use up oats. Make oats bread..that’s healthy.

Comments are yummy :)

