Bounty Cake: Textured Treat

No, I am not Nigella, so this isn’t a cake with mashed up Bounty bars and cake flour. Her deep fried Bounty bars were enough for me. This has chocolate and coconut, therefore the tag of bounty cake :)

If you have looked through some of the cake recipes here, you will observe that I have a thing for adding semolina to the batter. I also have a thing for coconut. And for Bounty candy bars. I know a lot of people find Bounty revolting and overly sweet; but I quite like the combination of sweetened coconut and chocolate.

When I thought about making this cake, I wanted to bring together chocolate, sugar and coconut, a la Bounty. But I also wanted texture. Something that wouldn’t just melt in your mouth, but keep you nibbling. Grated coconut + semolina! This cake is fun and crumbly, and if you are a South Indian like me who always has grated coconut on hand (because we just love putting grated coconut in our thorans and curries,) you will not even need to run down to the store to buy dessicated coconut.

I found a recipe for a semolina chocolate cake, and worked from there. Since baking an orange and chocolate chip pound cake, I like following that method when making cake batter- sugar mixed in with the dry ingredients, and butter added one portion at a time into the dry ingredients. For some reason, my cakes come out better that way, as opposed to creaming the butter and sugar together first.

BOUNTY CAKE (Adapted from Easily Good Eats)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups semolina
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup grated coconut
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 13 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 2 eggs

METHOD

  • Pre-heat oven to 180 C
  • Beat eggs and coconut milk in a bowl and keep aside
  • Mix semolina, flour, sugar, cocoa powder, grated coconut and baking powder in a large bowl
  • Add the butter, 1 tablespoon at a time, to the dry mix and beat until it resembles fine bread crumbs
  • Add the egg-coconut milk mix and beat some more
  • Pour batter into a greased baking dish and bake at 180 c for 30 to 40 minutes; or until a toothpick or knife inserted into the cake comes out clean

This cake is moist, chocolatey and the different textures from the coconut and semolina make it such an interesting experience! Tastes great with vanilla ice cream too. What could make it even better? A chocolate buttercream or ganache frosting :)

I should do that one day. Another day, another blogpost.

16 thoughts on “Bounty Cake: Textured Treat

    • Hahaha! Yeah…it is a bit much, but you know something? Butter makes it better. Not for the very health concious, but if a cake like this is once in a while, and it is shared between many, you will not feel that guilty about the calories.

  1. Funny, I had to google Bounty candy bars. No wonder I didn’t find the name familiar—apparently they don’t market them in the U.S. because the similar candy called Mounds already cornered the market here. You’re right: the combination of chocolate and coconut is always terrific!

  2. Feels like a hearty cake. I love textured cakes as I love the soft gooey- melt in the mouth ones.
    We share a semolina obsession, trust me. If it weren’t for my hubby who hates it, I would have included semolina in everything possible.

Comments are yummy :)

